HomeTVUSWNT Fails To Secure Group E Top Spot At World Cup &...

USWNT Fails To Secure Group E Top Spot At World Cup & Creates Unfortunate Scheduling Situation For U.S. Viewers

-

The U.S. is the biggest women’s soccer market and FIFA officials catered their Women’s World Cup schedule for audiences in North America.

With the competition taking place between Australia and New Zealand, games were scheduled to accommodate U.S. viewers tuning in to Fox Sports and Telemundo. Two games for the U.S. Women’s National Soccer Team were scheduled at 1 p.m. in New Zealand, which is 9 p.m. ET in the U.S., right during primetime.

The U.S. is part of Group E and the winner of the group would play a game at noon in Sydney. Their thought process was that the USWNT would have no problem landing the top spot and would work out perfectly.

However, the U.S. ended up placing second in the group stage with the Netherlands taking the top spot. Now it’s the Netherlands team that will go to Sydney and play a game that will start at 10 p.m. ET in the U.S. and at 4 a.m. in Amsterdam.

Meanwhile, the USWNT will travel to Melbourne for a game that is scheduled to take place at 7 p.m. local time and 5 a.m. ET.

The scheduling plan backfired and now soccer aficionados from the U.S. and the Netherlands will have to set up their alarm clock for the wee hours of the morning alongside a big coffee pot to cheer on their respective teams in the Round of 16 stage.



Content Source: deadline.com

LATEST POSTS

Viral: Shah Rukh Khan Collects Scattered KKR Flags From Eden Gardens’ Stands After Team’s Win

<!-- -->Image was shared on X. (courtesy: Revamped_SRKC)Shah Rukh Khan always manages to impress the internet with his wit and charm. This time around, fans were...

Suki Waterhouse Reveals Baby’s Gender During Coachella Performance. Watch

<!-- -->The image was shared on X. (courtesy: neonshornceleb)New Delhi: Robert Pattinson and his longtime girlfriend Suki Waterhouse recently welcomed their first child. A week...

Broadway Spring 2024: ‘Lempicka’ & All Of Deadline’s Reviews

April on Broadway, to mangle a phrase from a showtune classic, is bustin’ out all over with no fewer than 14 new plays and musicals...

BTS On Hiatus But Still Packs A Punch As ‘Suga’ Concert Film Pushes $1M Weekend – Specialty Box Office

Concert film Suga – Agust D Tour ‘D-Day’ The Movie from Trafalgar Releasing took in $990k for Saturday alone, rounding out the North American box...

Most Popular